CHARLES COUNTY GOVERNMENT
Department of Emergency Services

Michelle Lilly, MPH, CEM
Director

APPLICATION FOR CHARLES COUNTY
ANIMAL FANCIER LICENSE

Person's Name:

Phone
Fax
Email

301-609-3400
301-609-3410
DES@CharlesCountyMD.gov

Is this a Maryland State Chartered Rescue? Yes () No ()

If yes to above; what is the Chartered name of the Rescue?

Phone numbers:

Physical Address:

Mailing Address:

Own C] Rent C]

What types of animals are you licensing?

How many animals of each type?

Check the applicable category below:

____For 11 (eleven) or more but fewer than 50 (fifty) animals, your fee is $200
If all of these animals are spayed or neutered, your fee is $50

____For 50 (fifty) or more animals, your fee is $250
If all these animals are spayed or neutered, your fee is $62.50

Please include a photograph, description and current rabies vaccination certificate (dogs/cats/ferrets over (4)
months of age) for each animal to be covered by this license. Also include certification of spay/neuter for

applicable animals to qualify for the 75% fee reduction listed.

Applicant’s Signature: Date:

Answering the call, saving lives!

10425 Audie Lane | La Plata, Maryland 20646
Maryland Relay: 7-1-1 (TDD: 1-800-735-2258)

Equal Opportunity Employer

www.CharlesCountyMD.gov



NOTE: If the property where the animals are kept or housed is not owned by the applicant, please include a written,

notarized statement from the property owner authorizing the activity to include the maximum number of animals

they are allowing on the property.

Section 230-10. Licensing

B. Animal fancier licensing. Any person, partnership, corporation, or other legal entity that harbors or keeps any

combination of more than 10 adult animals and which does not breed and sell the offspring or use males for stud

may not do so without first obtaining an animal fancier's license in compliance with this section.

(1)

application for an animal fancier's license shall be made to the Charles County Division of Animal Control

(2)

or its designee. The application shall be accompanied by a photograph, current rabies vaccination

certificate and description of each animal to be covered by the license.

the license period shall run for one (1) year from the date of issuance. Renewal applications for licenses

(3)

shall be made thirty (30) days prior to expiration of said license.

an annual animal fancier's license will be issued only upon the successful completion of an inspection of

(4)

the premises where the animals are kept or housed.

(a) an appointment for inspection will be made by Charles County Animal Control Services within

(30) days of receipt of the application.

(b) when the license covers dogs or cats, individual tags for the animals covered by this license will

be issued along with the license certificate. These tags shall be worn by the individual dogs or

cats at all times, except when confined in a home, kennel or when participating in a competition

where such displays are prohibited. (NOTE: Cats may be exempted from this requirement if

they are microchipped and the microchip number is included with the individual animal’s

information sent with the license application.)

a current rabies vaccination certificate on each animal covered by the license shall be made available at

(5)

the time of the inspection and at any time requested by any animal control, health or law enforcement

officer.

if the property where the animals are to be kept or housed is not owned by the applicant, he/she must

(6)

submit written, notarized permission from the property owner authorizing the activity requested and the

maximum number of animals to be kept on the property.

the annual fee for a fancier's license shall be as set forth in the commissioners’ fees and charges,

(7)

approved on a yearly basis with the annual budget. If all of the animals covered by the license are

sterilized, a 75% reduction of the applicable fee will be applied.

no person, partnership, corporation or other legal entity that has been found guilty of cruelty to animals
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shall be eligible for an animal fancier's license.




